Motivation for Writing

Honestly, with the publication world changing daily, it’s hard to stay motivated about writing. Where should an author submit his manuscript? Should I just write what’s in my head and hope it fits some publisher’s guidelines? Or should I write this book for myself and share it by self publishing and let come what may?

I’m committed to several series and those are committed to several publishers, so if I finish a series they are going to be with those publishers for at least five years whether they’re selling or not. Whether they get decent exposure of not. Whether policies change or not. Then I look at self publishing: What are the upsides?

Pricing – it’s my choice

Marketing – it’s my choice

Book Cover/Title – it’s my choice

Genre it’s my choice

So if the publishers are not willing to negotiate any of these options then why would an author publish with them? There must be an upside to traditional publishers, eBook publishers, or small houses. I believe it’s the organization. Authors want to write. They don’t want to sell, market, blog, twitter, or Facebook. I  write under a pseudonym that sells quite well. But to be honest when I started, there wasn’t the competition for the front page of the websites like there is today. The more authors, the more books, the harder it is to find you let alone discover you. So how can your work get discovered?

Readers are your best promoters. If I’m in love with an author or series I’m compelled to share that information with other readers. Goodreads is an excellent source of readers and reviewers. Sometimes personal tastes get in the  way of quality reviews but somewhere within the lists of readers you’ll find the information you’re looking for about authors and their books.

I hope this was a thought-provoking blog today. If you enjoyed it please share it. And if you’ve read a good book lately, share that information with your friends.

About Eliza (E.L.) March

Best selling, award winning, erotic romance author at Decadent Publishing, The Wild Rose Press Scarlet Rose, and WP Sevilla Publishing. Also writes suspense, paranormal, humorous romance, and contemporary new adult as Eliza March.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment